Concerts from the Library of Congress


Don't Miss - On this page: Concert, Conversations, Downloadable Program and Other Resources

Download Program (PDF, 590KB)
Takacs Quartet program PDF

Takács Quartet. Photo credit: Amanda Tipton.


Quartetsatz in C minor, D.703


String Quartet no. 1 in A minor


Quartet in A minor, op. 132

Edward Dusinberre and Harumi Rhodes, violins
Richard O'Neill, viola  |  András Fejér, cello

Now in its 45th year, the eminent Takács Quartet holds an undisputed place at the very peak of the profession. As part of our virtual season, the artists perform from their home ground in Boulder, Colorado. Introduced by Schubert and Bartók, Beethoven’s op. 132 quartet engages us with the mystery and magisterial writing of the composer’s late works. “To perform, say, the slow movement of a late Beethoven quartet is to attain a blissful state, liberated from the confines of individual personalities,” writes first violinist Edward Dusinberre. “Or at least, that is the experience we hope for. The greatest pieces of music are often the most elusive.”

Explore Beethoven in the Library's collection with our new resource:
Beethoven: A Guide to Primary and Secondary Resources at the Library of Congress

This concert is part of our (Re)Hearing Beethoven Festival. Be sure to check out the full range of events!

Other ways to watch ...

Artist Conversations & Book Talk

Insights from the Takács on their program and a look at one of the Library’s Beethoven treasures: his sketch for the final movement of the Quartet in C-sharp minor, op. 131. Takács violinist Edward Dusinberre discusses his book Beethoven for a Later Age: The Journey of a String Quartet (Faber and Faber, 2016).

Beethoven's Sketches for the op. 131 String Quartet at the Library of Congress

Edward Dusinberre discusses his book "Beethoven for a Later Age"

Explore Related Collections and Resources

All events for the 2020-2021 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.